Divert NS Congratulates 2016 Grade 12 Scholarship Winners

As high school graduation ceremonies wrap up around the province, Divert NS is congratulates students who won scholarships in this year’s Nova Scotia Recycles Contest. In total, almost $20,000 was awarded to Grade 12 students throughout the province.


This spring,14 Grade 12 students in Nova Scotia were awarded scholarships from Divert NS for research essays submitted through the 2016 annual Nova Scotia Recycles Contest. One winner was awarded a provincial scholarship valued at $5,000; six students from around the province won scholarships valued at $1,500; and seven more received awards of $750.


LOW_1166.jpg#asset:672The $5,000 provincial scholarship was presented for the most outstanding essay. Josh MacMillan, from Cobequid Educational Centre in Truro, was presented with the grand prize scholarship for his essay: Glass Act – Recycling Programs and Opportunities in Nova Scotia. (Pictured at left: Josh MacMillan presents his executive summary at the Divert NS Annual General Meeting, June 23, 2016.)


“This year we’re celebrating 20 years of recycling in Nova Scotia. The exceptional work by our scholarship winners gives us yet another reason to be proud of the success our province has made in waste diversion,” says Jeff MacCallum, CEO of Divert NS.

“At Divert NS, we are thankful to all of our Nova Scotia Recycles contest participants. It is due to their efforts, and the efforts of the students who have come before them, that Nova Scotia is a world leader in recycling,” says MacCallum. “We wish the best of luck to the scholarship winners as they begin post secondary education this fall.”

Over $55,000 in cash and prizes was awarded to schools and students during this year’s Nova Scotia Recycles Contest. The initiative promotes participation in recycling and composting, and celebrates Nova Scotia’s stellar reputation as a leader in waste diversion.

Listed below are the 2016 scholarship recipients:
Provincial $5,000 winner:

Josh MacMillan

Cobequid Educational Centre, Truro

$1,500 Winners

Maggie MacNeil, Rankin School of the Narrows, Iona, Cape Breton


Katie Warren, North Nova Education Centre, New Glasgow


Evan Keough, Cole Harbour High School


Robert Tupper, North East Kings Education Centre, Canning


Jessica Jurgenliemk, Shelburne Regional High School, Shelburne


Jayden MacDonald, Digby Regional High School

$750 Winners                       

Lara Fraser, Baddeck Academy, Baddeck, Cape Breton


Adora Rooyakkers, Dr. John Hugh Gillis Regional High School, Antigonish


Brandon Nuttall, Advocate District School, Advocate Harbour


Amy Nieforth, Cole Harbour School


Jeremy Allen, West District High School, Auburn, Kings County


Bromlyn Myra, Parkview Education Centre, Bridgewater


Alexis Saulnier, Ecole Secondaire de Clare, Clare

Search the site: